top of page

Master Bedroom Redesign

One of our previous projects was updating our bedroom. My husband inherited all of his grandmother's old furniture and accessories, which have a strong nautical/owl(?) theme. Luckily, the bedroom furniture was owl-free, but it still needed some freshening up. Before, the room was painted a lovely yellow, with yellow oak furniture, yellow oak floors, and cream moulding. I got a chevron chindi rug from World Market for $120 to start off the design.

Chris had been eyeballing a pneumatic nail gun, but hadn't been able to justify the purchase until (aha!) we decided to put picture frame moulding in the master bedroom. It would tie in the moulding downstairs and be an inexpensive way to make our small, unremarkable master bedroom stand out. We are loving having the nailer! We painted the walls Wheat Bread by Behr, and I am in love with the color. It is neutral and rich. It reads tan in some lights and grey in others. Installing the moulding was all very subjective, in that we just decided how many segments we thought would look good along the longest wall, then matched it on the other side. I decided to just make the window segments shorter, but match the 4" distance from the top and bottom. Notice the special detail in how we decided to carry the moulding around the corner of the room next to the far window. We did that because the windows weren't centered on the wall, and it would have looked awkward to have two small segments right next to each other in the corner. We did the same thing on the other side of the room where the closet, bathroom, and bedroom doorways interrupt the moulding design.

Another thing we needed was curtains. I decided to make them, to save some money. It ended up costing $70 for the material, and around an additional $70 for all the hardware. I feel like we could have gotten some panels that we liked for around the same price, but the material on the bottom of ours was very expensive (around $20/yard), while the top part was just basic canvas. I'm not great at sewing so there are some imperfections, but I'm so proud that I was able to line up the pattern so well! ...And that I was able to do it twice! (Believe me, that was a major stress factor for me after I finished the first set and had to do it all over again.)

We were given an awesome West Elm quilt set for Christmas from my Amazon Wish list.

I decided to paint some artwork for above the bed that would pull in all the colors I was looking for, so I made this abstract piece based on an artist's work I found online. My painting looks NOTHING like the one I was trying to emulate, but at a certain point in the video tutorial I just gave up and started doing my own thing. We got a frame from Michaels and I painted a little red around the border to emphasize that color in the painting. Chris actually said he liked mine better than the original!

We replaced all the hardware on the dressers to give them a fresh new look.

We love how it all came together. Our bedroom is elegant without feeling stuffy, and comfy all at the same time! Buddha loves it too!


RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page