top of page

Kitchen Inspiration

Sometime in 2016 we will begin our kitchen remodel. I've already started sourcing things so that when the time comes, we will be totally prepared and can just make our final purchases.

Planning a kitchen is very overwhelming. There are so many decisions to be made. In order to get a starting point, just to say, "What do I even like?" I started pinning kitchens on Pinterest. This was actually the very first kitchen I pinned. Things that stand out are the brightness and openness. Our kitchen now has one window onto a screened in porch so it is quite dark, and the ceilings also aren't a bajillion feet high. BUT I learned that I like white shaker cabinets, light counters, and a light backsplash. It's interesting because I thought I liked traditional cabinets, but I noticed that every single kitchen I pinned had shaker cabinets. That made at least one decision easier for me.

Chris always tells me to find a picture of a room I like, and we'll copy it, but I don't think he understands that my ideas just can't be contained to one photo! However, I did my best to meet his expectations, and I found this kitchen:

It has the white shaker cabinets that I love. The backsplash is neutral. The countertops are light, but are granite, and therefore cheaper and more durable than marble. I also love the granite windowsill. It's a small detail, but I think it is very thoughtful. Though I love the apron front sink, we will opt for an undermount stainless one since I worry about the apron front getting scratched up. I found a tile at Home Depot which is very similar to the one in the picture above. It is more grey, but it has the same crackle effect which makes it seem handmade (but without the handmade price!). At this point I'm feeling pretty good about this tile, but I am still wavering between it and a classic white subway tile. On the one hand, I really love the coziness of the grey tile, but on the other, I love the cleanness of the white. If only I could find an affordable white crackle subway tile...Luckily, I don't have to make a final decision for a while!

The countertops in the above kitchen are Bianco Antico Granite. Though I love the pattern in that kitchen, it can vary so much from slab to slab. Some pieces appear almost totally black. It is important to me that the granite we select have a lot of white, and have both brown and grey/black striations. I think I want a safer, less variegated granite like Alaskan White. It still hits on the black and brown tones I want, but is less contrasty overall than the Bianco Antico.

Lastly, every other room on our first floor has dentil crown moulding. That style of moulding is so ornate and special looking. I would love to have it wrapping around the cabinets and the entire kitchen, as well. Since our other finishes are so simple, I feel like it will be a very nice detail.

Here are some more inspiration kitchens that I love!

Image sources: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7


RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page